Oct 12, 2010

The Extra Lens

If you are a Mountain Goats fan then this might just interest you. Next week sees a new (and perhaps long awaited) album from The Extra Lens. This band of two comprises John Darnielle (The Mountain Goats) and Franklin Bruno (Nothing Painted Blue). These two men recorded a lot of underground stuff in the 90s as The Extra Glenns before releasing an album in 2002 on Absolutely Kosher that was named "Martial Arts Weekend". Since that time both men have concentrated on their own projects, but now we have new music under a slightly changed name. "Undercard" will be released on October 19 on Merge Records. The album contains 12 tracks and was recorded at the Rubber Room in Carrboro, North Carolina and at Seaside Lounge in Brooklyn. John basically does the singing and the guitar playing and then Franklin provides the arrangements as the songs require. This is one album that won't be punching above its weight.

Undercard Track Listing
1 Adultery
2 Cruiserweights
3 Only Existing Footage
4 Communicating Doors
5 Programmed Cell Death
6 How I Left The Ministry
7 Some Other Way
8 Ambivalent Landscape Z
9 In Germany Before the War
10 Tug on the Line
11 Rockin' Rockin' Twilight of the Gods
12 Dogs of Clinic 17

MP3: Only Existing Footage

PS. The Mountain Goats have also signed with Merge Records.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home