Oct 16, 2010

Destroyer Returns!!!!

January 25, 2011. Merge Records. Be there. Or be square. "Kaputt"

Bejar: "Kaputt by Malaparte, which Bejar has never read… Kara Walker, specifically the lyrics she contributed to the song 'Suicide Demo for Kara Walker'… Chinatown, the neighborhood bordering on Bejar's… Baby blue eyes… 80s Miles Davis… 90s Gil Evans… Last Tango in ParisNic Bragg, who played lead guitar on every song, again… Fretless bass… The hopelessness of the future of music… The pointlessness of writing songs for today… V-Drums… The superiority of poetry and plays… And what's to become of film?… The Cocaine Addict… American Communism… Downtown, the neighborhood bordering on Bejar's… The LinnDrumAvalon and, more specifically, Boys and Girls… The devastated mind of JC/DC, who recorded, produced and mixed this record from fall of 2008 to spring of 2010… The back-up vocals of certain Roy Ayers and Long John Baldry tours… Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence…"

Kaputt Track Listing
1 Chinatown
2 Blue Eyes
3 Savage Night at the Opera
4 Suicide Demo for Kara Walker
5 Poor in Love
6 Kaputt
7 Downtown
8 Song for America
9 Bay of Pigs (Detail)


  • At October 18, 2010 , Anonymous Bill said...

    Hell yea. I'm assuming "Bay of Pigs" is a shorter/different version. The long version is an absolute classic of course but it doesn't really belong on another album, I wouldn't think.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home