Sep 16, 2009

Sufjan Stevens Gets On The BQE

October 20 sees the release of "The BQE" from Sufjan Stevens. Asthmatic Kitty are delivering the goods in the US, whilst Spunk Records will have the honours in Australia. "The BQE" was commissioned by the Brooklyn Academy of Music and orginally performed in October 2007. Inspired by the infamous Brooklyn-Queens Expressway, this project comes in a double-disc format (CD/DVD) which includes the original 16mm film, the original soundtrack and a 40 page booklet. Sure to be an aural and visual delight.

The BQE Track Listing
1. Prelude on the Esplanade (2:56)
2. Introductory Fanfare for the Hooper Heroes (1:07)
3. Movement I—In the Countenance of Kings (5:19)
4. Movement II—Sleeping Invader (4:34)
5. Interlude I—Dream Sequence in Subi Circumnavigation (3:33)
6. Movement III—Linear Tableau with Intersecting Surprise (4:09)
7. Movement IV—Traffic Shock (3:24)
8. Movement V—Self-Organizing Emergent Patterns (3:45)
9. Interlude II—Subi Power Waltz (0:28)
10. Interlude III—Invisible Accidents (0:54)
11. Movement VI—Isorhythmic Night Dance with Interchanges (3:17)
12. Movement VII (Finale)—The Emperor of Centrifuge (3:51)
13. Postlude—Critical Mass (2:59)

MP3: Movement VI-Isorhythmic Night Dance with Interchanges


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home