Jul 17, 2009

Alec Ounsworth Goes Solo

As we speak Clap Your Hands Say Yeah are unofficially on hiatus. The Brooklyn/Philadelphia band have released two superb albums. Well, I loved both. Some people hated on the second, but it was an album that I particulalry enjoyed. Anyway, to the point. Lead singer and chief songwriter Alec Ounsworth has a solo album in the works. "Mo Beauty" will be released on October 20 on ANTI- Records. The album was recorded in New Orleans at the famed Piety St. recording studio and produced by Steve Berlin, who suggested the New Orleans locale for the recording.

"New Orleans informed the spirit of the record, as it should. It’s not a 'New Orleans record,' though, because, besides "Holy, Holy, Holy Moses," most of the songs weren't written specifically for New Orleans . . . Any record can be influenced by its location aesthetically, and some are more than others. So it was with this record . . . it is New Orleans, after all", said Ounsworth.
Backed by a slew of famous New Orleans names, it will be interesting to see how the sound for this release develops.

Mo Beauty Track Listing
1 Modern Girl (... With Scissors)
2 Bones in the Grave
3 Holy, Holy, Holy Moses (Song for New Orleans)
4 That Is Not My Home (After Bruegel)
5 Idiots in the Rain
6 South Philadelphia (Drug Days)
7 What Fun
8 Me and You, Watson
9 Obscene Queen Bee #2
10 When You've No Eyes


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home