May 29, 2009

Magnolia Electric Co. Return With New Album In July

Jason Molina is an American songwriting treasure. A true classic. Firstly as Songs: Ohia (basically solo) or as his full band Magnolia Electric Co. The latter return with their first album in three years in the shape of "Josephine". The album, produced by Steve Albini, is dedicated to the memory of bassist Evan Farrell who passed away in 2007. So it carries an extra weight of substance and maturity. I would expect nothing less from the great Molina. Judging by the sound of the title track this album will contain more of that classic Molina sound. "Josephine" is due out on July 21 on Secretly Canadian.

MP3: Josephine-Magnolia Electric Co.

Josephine Track Listing
1 O! Grace
2 The Rock of Ages
3 Josephine
4 Shenandoah
5 Whip-poor-will
6 Song for Willie
7 Hope Dies Last
8 The Handing Down
9 Map of the Falling Sky
10 Little Sad Eyes
11 Heartbreak at Ten Paces
12 Little Knoxville Girl
13 Shiloh
14 An Arrow in the Gale


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home