Jun 2, 2008

Okkervil River to Release New Album In September

The rumours and stories were true after all. We will have a new, yes new Okkervil River album in September. September 9 on Jagjaguwar to be exact. "The Stand Ins" will comprise 11 songs and can be seen as a companion piece to 2007's "The Stage Names". Will Sheff explains, "We had so many songs we were excited about that we briefly threw around the idea of just putting out a double record. Instead, we decided to take a group of songs that fit with each other and turn that into The Stage Names, setting the rest aside for a future release, a The Stage Names sequel. The Stand Ins is that sequel, part two of a staggered double album." Recorded in Austin and produced by the band and Brian Beattie, it is also effectively the last contribution to the band by Jonathan Meiburg. Meiburg's band Shearwater release their brand new album "Rook" this week on Matador Records.

The Stand Ins Track Listing
1 The Stand Ins, One
2 Lost Coastlines
3 Singer Songwriter
4 Starry Stairs
5 Blue Tulip
6 The Stand Ins, Two
7 Pop Lie
8 On Tour With Zykos
9 Calling and Not Calling My Ex
10 The Stand Ins, Three
11 Bruce Wayne Campbell Interviewed on the Roof of the Chelsea Hotel, 1979

MP3: Rooks-Shearwater
MP3: Lost Coastlines-Okkervil River (Live on WOXY)

Added bonus-
New MP3 from "At Mount Zoomer" (otherwise known as album of the year)
MP3: Language City-Wolf Parade


  • At June 02, 2008 , Anonymous Karen said...

    So. Excited.

    I know everyone (including me) loves Black Sheep Boy, but I loved the Appendix even more. So I can't wait for this.

  • At June 03, 2008 , Anonymous darragh said...

    Well, I may be an outsider on this one, but I sincerely hope it is better than the Stage Names...I disliked that record. Black Sheep Boy was the magnum opus.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home